>> See also Aalto University organization


Management / Deans

Dean Ingmar Björkman


Dean Ingmar Björkman, D.Sc. (Econ.), (born 1959) received his PhD from the Hanken School of Economics (Finland) after completing parts of his studies at Stanford University. Prior to joining Aalto University, Dean Björkman was Professor of Management and Organization at the Hanken School of Economics, where he also worked as the Dean of Research and Internationalization and the Head of the Department of Management and Organization.

Having taught at a number of business schools in Europe and Asia, Dean Björkman has received teaching awards from Hanken School of Economics, Fudan University (Shanghai), and INSEAD (Singapore).

Dean Björkman’s research area is International Management, with a particular focus on people management issues in multinational corporations.

Associate Dean Matti Suominen

Suominen_Matti.jpgProfessor of Finance Matti Suominen is appointed to the position of Associate Dean of the School of Business for the period 1 December 2017−31 July 2020.

Matti Suominen is responsible for research and international co-operation.





Associate Dean Timo Saarinen

SaarinenTimo.jpgProfessor of Information Systems Science Timo Saarinen is appointed to the position of Associate Dean of the School of Business for the period 1 December 2017−31 July 2020.

Timo Saarinen is responsible for teaching and learning.






Corporate Advisory Board (CAB)

Corporate Advisory Board's (CAB) purpose is to support the School’s leadership in an ongoing effort to enhance the School’s position as a world-class business school.

Aalto University School of Business Corporate Advisory Board:

  • acts in an advisory position to the leadership of the School with the aim to inform and further strengthen the engagement between the School and society, the corporate sector in particular
  • promotes the School’s abilities to access non-academic sources of know-how and other resources to shape its long-term development
  • ensure that the School through its research and educational programmes addresses the current and future needs of companies and society.

The CAB is made up of distinguished leaders from the corporate sector and society at large. The memebers are President Kari Jordan, CEO Matti Vuoria, CEO Elina Björklund, MSc (Econ.) Arto Hiltunen, CEO Pekka Laaksonen, Executive Search Consultant, Partner Pii Kotilainen, and Dean Ingmar Björkman.

Alumni Advisory Board (AAB)

Alumni Advisory Board discusses alumni activity, the school's external relations and fundraising.The goal of the Alumni Advisory Board is to support its alma mater in the areas of teaching, research and societal impact.

The members of the advisory board are a versatile representation of School of Business alumni, and the board is chaired by the Alumnus of the Year of the School of Business, angel investor Riku Asikainen. The members of the board also include Salla Vainio (Managing Director at Fondia), Paula Salovaara (Journalist /Entrepreneur, Räty-Salovaara-Blåfield), Timo Pantsari (Senior Advisor, Sofigate), Tiina Alahuhta-Kasko (President & CEO at Marimekko), Matti Parpala (CEO at Smartum Palveluseteli), Ingmar Björkman (Dean), Jari Huikku (Assistant Professor, Accounting), Jonna Söderholm (Head of External Relations), and Emilia Karlén (Alumni Relations Coordinator). The Chairman of the Board of the KY - Aalto University Business Students Association is also a member of the Alumni Advisory Board.

Get to know more about the members of the Alumni Advisory Board.

Page content by: | Last updated: 14.03.2018.